Historical Places & Sites of Meigs County, TN
Enjoy this Interactive Map of Meigs County's Historical Sites & Museums!
RH JOHNSON STABLES
This stable was built in 1888 by R. H. Johnson to house Tennessee walking horses. Johnson hoped to breed these horses as part of a large horse farm, but the enterprise ended with Johnson's death ca. 1890. This was the only attempt ever made in Meigs County to create a walking horse farm. The style of the stable is unique in Meigs County and reflects the grandeur Johnson wanted for his farm in many of its details, such as glass windows, indoor well, staircase, and the distinctive belvedere on the roof. The building is now a well known county landmark, even though its use is restricted to hay and equipment storage.
MT. ZION CHURCH
The Mt. Zion Church, typified the rural meetinghouse used by congregations in the middle and late 1800's. Located at the edge of one of Meigs County's earliest cemeteries, and in the northern-most district of Meigs County. The Mt. Zion Church retains its original interior with wooden flooring, pews, and altar.
HENLEY MILL BRIDGE
Also known as Kings Mill Bridge, the truss was built in 1884 by the Champion Bridge Company. It is located west of Highway 58 on Big Sewee Road (County Road 407) north of Decatur. The bridge traverses Sewee Creek and is adjacent to the site of the old Henley (Kings) Mill after which the bridge was named.